Election 2020: Mobilizing Young Voters in 2020 and Beyond

Friday, November 13, 2020
12:00pm to 1:15pm
Zoom Webcast
Registration Link:

Friday, November 13, 12:00-1:15pm (PT) / 2:00-3:15pm (CT) / 3:00-4:15pm (ET)

Zoom Webinar and Livestreamed on YouTube (registration required)

Young Americans turn out to vote at a much lower rate than their older counterparts, and their low turnout may have big consequences for public policy. Millennials and Gen Z are the most diverse generations in American history, and they also have different policy priorities and preferences than their older counterparts—yet elected officials tend to pay less attention to the concerns of those who don't vote. What, then, are the reasons for the lower voting rates of young Americans? What strategies can be used to increase their political participation? This panel brings together scholars and practitioners to discuss the most effective strategies for mobilizing young voters, and considers the ways in which increased mobilization of the highly diverse younger generation can reshape American politics.

This will be the third of three panels that comprise IGS’s postmortem on the 2020 election. Please visit our events page for information about other Election 2020 panels.

Speakers:

Sunshine Hillygus, Professor of Political Science, Duke University

Veronica Terriquez, Associate Professor of Sociology, UC Santa Barbara

Ben Wessel, Director, NextGen Rising; Executive Director, NextGen America

Moderated by Elizabeth Jarvis-Shean, Vice President of Communications, DoorDash

Co-sponsored by IGS, the Robert T. Matsui Center for Politics and Public Service, and the Berkeley Institute for Young Americans at GSPP.