Reimagining Democracy Town Hall: The 2020 Election and the Politics of Racial Justice

Wednesday, October 21, 2020
5:00pm to 6:00pm
Registration Link:

Event contact: Kelly Jones, kejones [at] berkeley.edu

Wednesday, October 21, 5:00-6:00pm (PT) / 7:00-8:00pm (CT) / 8:00-9:00pm (ET)

Zoom Webinar (registration required) and Livestreamed on YouTube 

On behalf of UC Berkeley and the Reimagining Democracy Town Hall series, you are cordially invited to the inaugural virtual event, The 2020 Election and the Politics of Racial Justice, hosted by the Institute of Governmental Studies.

What are the implications of the 2020 election for the prospects of building a genuine multi-racial democracy in the United States? What are the dangers posed by increasing partisan polarization on questions of race? Does this polarization also present any opportunities for progress?

This panel will discuss these questions, bringing together UC Berkeley scholars and nationally recognized political strategists to share reflections on what the 2020 election holds for the future of democracy and efforts to achieve racial justice in the United States. This will be the first in a series of campus-wide town halls on Reimagining Democracy offered throughout the year.

Speakers:

Reed Galen, Co-founder, The Lincoln Project

Maya Rupert J.D. '06, Political strategist, writer and campaign manager for presidential candidate Julián Castro

Eric Schickler, Jeffrey & Ashley McDermott Professor of Political Science, and Co-Director, Institute of Governmental Studies, UC Berkeley

G. Cristina Mora '03, Associate Professor of Sociology and Co-Director, Institute of Governmental Studies, UC Berkeley

Co-sponsored by the Institute of Governmental Studies, Robert T. Matsui Center for Politics and Public Service, Division of Social Sciences, and Social Science Matrix.