Women of the 116th Congress: Portraits of Power

Portrait of Lincoln and Rep. Underwood
Wednesday, September 30, 2020
12:00pm to 1:00pm
Registration Link:

Event contact: Sonia Moctezuma: soniamoctezuma [at] berkeley.edu

Please note various time zones: 12:00-1:00pm (PT) / 2:00-3:00pm (CT) / 3:00-4:00pm (ET)

The first woman speaker of the House. The first female combat veteran. The first Native American women. The first Muslim women. The first openly gay member of the Senate. These are just some of the remarkable firsts represented by the women of the 116th Congress, the most diverse and inclusive in American history.

The recently published New York Times book, The Women of the 116th Congress: Portraits of Power, documents the women of the 116th Congress in their totality, photographed in the style of historical portrait paintings commonly seen in the halls of power to highlight the stark difference between how we've historically viewed governance and how it has evolved.

Join us for a conversation with two of the history-making women of the 116th Congress, Rep. Lauren Underwood (IL-14) and Rep. Jackie Speier (CA-14), along with UC Berkeley Ph.D. candidate in Political Science and photojournalist Elizabeth D. Herman and New York Times photo editor Marisa Schwartz Taylor, whose work profoundly captures the importance of this moment in history.

Co-sponsored by: Institute of Governmental Studies, the Robert T. Matsui Center for Politics and Public Service, and the Center for Race and Gender.