IGS Community Honored at 2015 APSA Conference

APSA logo
September 30, 2015

The 2015 APSA Awards are out, and many members of the IGS community have been honored.

IGS affiliated faculty member Sarah Anzia was awarded the Best Book Award on urban politics published in the previous year, and the Virginia Gray Best Book Award for the best political science book published on the subject of U.S. state politics or policy in the preceding three calendar years, for her book Timing and Turnout: How Off-Cycle Elections Favor Organized Groups.

Rebecca Hamlin, former IGS Graduate Fellow, received the Best Conference Paper Award for the best paper on law and courts presented at the previous year's annual meetings of the American, international, or reginal political science associations for her paper "The Human Rights Act and the New Immigration Politics in the United Kingdom." Hamlin also received an Honorable Mention for the Best Book Award for best book on Migration and/or Citizenship published in the previous year for her book Let Me Be a Refugee: Administrative Justice and the Politics of Asylum in the United States, Canada, and Australia.

G. Bingham Powell, former IGS affiliated faculty member, received the George H. Hallett Award for his book Elections As Instruments of Democracy. The Hallett Award is given to the author of a book published at least 10 years ago that has made a lasting contribution to the literature on representation and electoral systems.

Rocio Titiunik, a 2007 IGS Synar Graduate Research Fellowship recipient, was awarded the Harold F. Gosnell prize for the best work of political methodology presented at a political science conference in the previous year for her paper “Robust Nonparametric Confidence Intervals for Regression-Discontinuity Designs.”

Michele Margolis, a former IGS Graduate Fellow, earned the Aaron Wildavsky Dissertation Award for best dissertation on religion and politics successfully defended within the last two years for her paper “The Intersection of Religion and Politics: A Two-Way Street.”

IGS affiliated faculty member Amy Lerman was awarded the Best Book Award on urban politics published in the previous year for her book Arresting Citizenship: The Democratic Consequences of American Crime Control.

2007 IGS Synar Graduate Research Fellowship recipient Kevin Wallsten received an honorable mention for Best Conference Paper for the best conference paper in the area of information technology and politics in the previous calendar year for his paper “Persuasion from Below? An Experimental Assessment of the Impact of Anonymous Comments Sections on New Reader Attitudes.”

Devin Caughey, a 2010 IGS Synar Graduate Research Fellowship recipient, was awarded the Best Paper Award for best paper on state politics and policy presented at the previous year’s APSA Annual Meeting for his paper “Dynamic Representation in the American States, 1960-2012.”

Former IGS Research Fellow Eric McGhee received the Best Article Award for the best journal article on U.S. state politics or policy published during the previous calendar year in any peer-reviewed journal for his article “A Primary Cause of Partisanship? Nomination Systems and Legislator Ideology.”