The Muir Leadership Award, established in 2014, recognizes exemplary undergraduate students with a demonstrated commitment to public service. Applicants are nominated by the Political Science department. Recipients demonstrate a high level of academic distinction and are leaders on campus, in their communities or public affairs. Thanks to generous donations to the Muir Award endowment, winners each receive $2,500. 

Meet the 2017 Recipients

Eric Yang, Paulette Muir, Grayson DimickCongratulations to the 2017 recipients of the Muir Leadership Award — Grayson Dimick ('17) and Eric Yang ('17), both Political Science majors who are dedicated to public service. Read more about Grayson and Eric.

Eric Yang, Paulette Muir, Grayson Dimick

Profile of Professor Muir

Sandy MuirProfessor Muir taught in the Berkeley Political Science Department from 1968 through 1998 in the fields of American Politics and Constitutional Law. He received his B.A. (magna cum laude) and Ph.D. from Yale University and his J.D. from the University of Michigan. He was honored with Berkeley's Distinguished Teaching Award (1974) and Phil Beta Kappa, Northern California’s Excellence in Teaching Award (1992).

Learn more about Professor Muir.


Help Support the Muir Award by making an online gift to the William K. (Sandy) Muir, Jr. Leadership Award Endowment Fund.