2024 Percy Synar Award Ceremony and Reception

February 23, 2024 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Please join us as we congratulate the 2024 recipients of the Charles H. Percy Undergraduate Grant for Public Affairs Research and the Mike Synar Graduate Research Fellowship. 

The Charles H. Percy Undergraduate Grant for Public Affairs Research 2024 Recipients

Alina Zarate (Environmental Sciences, Interdisciplinary Studies): "The Multiple Fronts of the Fight for Farm Worker Rights: An Analysis of UFW Political Advocacy in the 21st Century"

Andrew Huong Yet Chen (Political Science, Psychology): "Unveiling Voter Perceptions: A Study of the Impact of Candidate Disability in American Politics"

Anna Diaz (Legal Studies): "Incarceration and Identity: A Reflection of the Criminal Justice System"

Jennifer Ramirez (Economics): " Impact of Caseworker Interventions on Youth Violence and Academic Engagement: A Comprehensive Study of the City of San Pablo Community Schools"

The Mike Synar Graduate Research Fellowship 2024 Recipients

Anna Weissman (Political Science): "Municipality Size and Local Governance"

Kirstin Krussell (Sociology): "Political Subjectivity in a Risk Society: A Comparative Ethnography of Left- and Right-Wing Doomsday Preppers"

Lawrence Jonefan Liu (Jurisprudence & Social Policy): "The Politics of Administrative Trade Protectionism in the United States and China"

Each year, the Institute of Governmental Studies awards up to four Charles H. Percy research grants in the amount of $500 each to U.C. Berkeley undergraduate students who are conducting research on an aspect of American politics, including public opinion, electoral behavior, civic participation, government institutions, social movements, and public policy. Students from a broad range of disciplines are encouraged to apply.

The Institute also awards three Mike Synar Graduate Research Fellowships of $3,000 each. The Synar Fellowship is awarded to distinguished UC Berkeley graduate students who are writing their dissertations on an aspect of American politics, which may include comparative research across nations with the United States as a major case.

The Percy Grants and Synar Fellowships are made possible by a generous donation from William Brandt and Patrice Bugelas-Brandt. These fellowships were created to honor Congressman Mike Synar of Oklahoma, who was Bill’s mentor when he first became active in politics and public policy, and Senator Charles H. Percy of Illinois for whom Patrice worked as a press secretary.

Register Here!

Friday, February 23, 2024

2:00pm to 4:00pm

109 Philosophy Hall, Berkeley, CA, 94720

Registration Link: 

Event Contact: ezrabristow@berkeley.edu

VIDEO: 2023 Percy Synar Awards Ceremony

2023 Percy-Synar Awards Ceremony

Click to watch the replay of the 2023 Percy Synar Awards Ceremony