William K. (Sandy) Muir, Jr. Leadership Award

The Muir Leadership Award, established in 2014, recognizes exemplary undergraduate students with a demonstrated commitment to public service. Applicants are nominated by the Political Science department. Recipients demonstrate a high level of academic distinction and are leaders on campus, in their communities or public affairs. Thanks to generous donations to the Muir Award endowment, winners each receive $2,500. 

Read about past William K. Muir Jr. Leadership Award winners here.

Meet the 2023 Recipients

Sammy Raucher smiling from shoulders up with shoulder length brown hair, white blouse, and black blazer 2023 Muir Award Recipient Hunayn Anwar stands smiling in a black pantsuit with with arms foldedCongratulations to the 2023 recipients of the Muir Leadership Award: Sammy Raucher ('23, left) and Hunayn Anwar ('23, right). Both are Political Science majors who are passionate about public service and advocacy.

Read more about Sammy Raucher and Hunayn Anwar

Help support the Muir Award by making an online gift to the William K. (Sandy) Muir, Jr. Leadership Award Endowment Fund.

Remembering Professor Muir

"Professor Muir was the highlight of my experience at Cal. He retired the year I graduated. I think about him often and owe a great deal to him for all that he taught me, both inside and outside the classroom. He was the best example of humanity and no doubt inspired legions of students to be public interest minded.  He was classy, eloquent and sharp.  His classes were the most academically challenging and yet accessible to students like me who came from disadvantaged backgrounds. I took nearly all of his Poli Sci classes.

Thank you for creating an award in his honor so that he will not be forgotten."

— Duyen Nguyen

"Sadly, I never took a single course from the late William Ker (Sandy) Muir but (not sadly) he absolutely changed my life and how I live it."

— Brent Andrew  (Read more from Cal alum Brent Andrew on the impact of Professor Muir's scholarship)